Peter Sagan takes overall lead in Eneco Tour after dramatic photo finish sprint

Sagan takes overall lead in Eneco Tour after dramatic photo-finish sprint

22/09/2016 at 21:00

Peter Sagan took the overall lead after winning the fourth stage of the Eneco Tour on Thursday.

Eurosport Player : Watch this event live

Watch on Eurosport

Tinkoff rider Sagan beat German, Andre Greipel, in a photo-finish sprint to conclude the 202km leg from Aalter to St-Pieters-Leeuw in his second consecutive stage victory.

Though Katusha rider Alexander Kristoff led, Sagan battled with Arnaud Demare for a place in Kristoff’s slipstream, bumping shoulders with the Frenchman to cause some controversy.

Slovak, Sagan, overpowered Kristoff to take the lead with Greipel soaring from behind to very nearly take victory for himself.

Speaking after the race, Sagan said: “There are some riders who are not happy [with the final sprint]. I didn’t know I won because it was a very close sprint with Andre and I had to wait for the final results. I’m very happy because it was another sprint with very good timing.

“I had a little problem with Demare,” he acknowledged, adding “but that is sprinting. If I did something bad, I’m sorry, but I don’t think I did.

“I was in my line and he was very aggressive to me.”

Stage Four results

1. Peter Sagan (Slovakia / Tinkoff) 4:42:12"

2. Andre Greipel (Germany / Lotto) ST

3. Alexander Kristoff (Norway / Katusha)

4. Arnaud Demare (France / FDJ)

5. Dylan Groenewegen (Netherlands / LottoNL)

6. John Degenkolb (Germany / Giant)

7. Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (South Africa / Dimension Data)

8. Amaury Capiot (Belgium / Topsport Vlaanderen)

9. Giacomo Nizzolo (Italy / Trek)

10. Luka Mezgec (Slovenia / Orica)

Tour classification after Stage Four

1. Peter Sagan (Slovakia / Tinkoff) 13:17:29"

2. Rohan Dennis (Australia / BMC Racing) +7"

3. Jos van Emden (Netherlands / LottoNL) +12"

4. Andriy Grivko (Ukraine / Astana) +20"

5. Jasha Suetterlin (Germany / Movistar) +21"

6. Martin Elmiger (Switzerland / IAM Cycling)

7. Wilco Kelderman (Netherlands / LottoNL) +22"

8. Matthias Braendle (Austria / IAM Cycling)

9. Primoz Roglic (Slovenia / LottoNL) +23"

10. Taylor Phinney (U.S. / BMC Racing)