Shane Byrne wins dramatic race two at Oulton as Haslam crashes out

Byrne wins dramatic race two at Oulton as Haslam crashes out

01/05/2017 at 16:00Updated 01/05/2017 at 20:35

Shane 'Shakey' Byrne took his first victory of the season in race two at Oulton Park as championship leader Leon Haslam crashed out in dramatic fashion.

Eurosport Player : Watch this event live

Watch on Eurosport

After Haslam held off Byrne to win the opening race and continue Kawasaki's clean sweep in 2017, scooping his third win of the season, the Ducati man hit back with a fine triumph of his own.

Video - Byrne claims first win of season in spectacular race two


But the race will also be recalled for a huge crash as Haslam appeared to clip James Ellison with his bike sent flying.

Video - 'Oh no! Good Lord!' - Haslam crashes out in crazy fashion


Ellison was also forced to retire with damage, but fortunately both walked away from the incident and headed for the medical centre for precautionary checks.

Byrne was left to clinch victory in fine fashion - his first of the season as he climbs to seventh in the overall standings.

“The first race was a bit frustrating," Byrne said. "I knew that I could run at the pace that I managed in race two but for some reason towards the end of race one we started having some problems which meant I couldn’t take it to Leon.

"But the way things have gone so far this season it was important to take that second place, take those 20 points and podium points rather than being upside down trying to race Leon.

Haslam leads the championship from Kawasaki team-mate Luke Mossey with Christian Iddon in third.

Race two result

Shane Byrne (Be Wiser Ducati)

Glenn Irwin (Be Wiser Ducati) +5.218s

Jason O'Halloran (Honda Racing) +5.309s

Christian Iddon (Tyco BMW) +5.574s

Luke Mossey (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) +5.881s

Josh Brookes (Anvil Hire TAG Yamaha) +6.025s

Peter Hickman (Smiths Racing BMW) +19.130s

Tommy Bridewell (Team WD-40 Kawasaki) +19.130s

John Hopkins (Moto Rapido Ducati) +20.293s

Billy McConnell (Quattro Plant FS-3 Kawasaki) +20.431s

Championship standings

Leon Haslam (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) 111

Luke Mossey (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) 108

Christian Iddon (Tyco BMW) 86

Josh Brookes (Anvil Hire TAG Yamaha) 67

Glenn Irwin (Be Wiser Ducati) 63

Jason O'Halloran (Honda Racing) 61