Groenewegen, who has won stages at Paris-Nice, the Volta ao Algarve and the Volta a la Comunitat Valencia this season, came from nowhere at the finish line to surprise the race favourites.
Eurosport Player One Year Pass for just £39.99
Both Fernando Gaviria and defending champion Elia Viviani looked in prime position after the latter was led out by Michael Morkov.
Brugge - De Panne
Elisa Longo Borghini apologises after throwing Lizzy Bank’s bike
29/03/2019 AT 11:37
Groenewegen stayed on the rear wheel of Gaviria and made his move in the closing moments, powering past the Colombian to lead the field.

Dylan Groenewegen comes from nowhere to beat Fernando Gaviria and Elia Viviani

Such was the power of his move that he was left with a decent distance between himself and the rest of the group.
It is his fifth victory of the season and next up he will be in Belgium for Gent-Wevelgem on Sunday.
Earlier in the race there was nasty pile-up when the bunch narrowed down a segment of the race.

Massive pile-up as road narrows at Bruges-De Panne

This led to Rudy Barbier flipping after hitting a metal barrier that led to many more going down including German champion Pascal Ackermann.

Driedaagse Brugge-De Panne results

  • 1 Dylan Groenewegen (Ned) Team Jumbo-Visma 4:36:32
  • 2 Fernando Gaviria (Col) UAE Team Emirates
  • 3 Elia Viviani (Ita) Deceuninck-QuickStep
  • 4 Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits
  • 5 Justin Jules (Fra) Wallonie Bruxelles
  • 6 Kristoffer Halvorsen (Nor) Team Sky
  • 7 Jonas Van Genechten (Bel) Vital Concept-B&B Hotel
  • 8 Luka Mezgec (Slo) Mitchelton-Scott
  • 9 Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) Dimension Data
  • 10 Mike Teunissen (Ned) Team Jumbo-Visma
Brugge - De Panne
Kirsten Wild: I was a bit tired after such a busy season
28/03/2019 AT 15:30
Brugge - De Panne
Kirsten Wild powers to Driedaagse Brugge - De Panne win
28/03/2019 AT 15:28