Ewan cracks top 10 in last true sprint stage of Giro

Ewan cracks top 10 in last true sprint stage of Giro
By Aaron S. Lee via Subaru

19/05/2017 at 21:58Updated 20/05/2017 at 13:24

A frustrated Caleb Ewan settles for eighth as Fernando Gaviria picks up fourth stage win of 2017 Giro d’Italia …

“At this level you have to have a lot of things go right for you,” said Ewan, who claimed he once again collided with another rider as he launched his final sprint off a perfectly executed lead-out from Orica teammate Luka Mezgec (SLO).

“I feel like I have had a lot of frustrations this Giro, things can go either way so easily in a sprint, but I am happy to have gotten a stage win here this year which is an improvement on 12months ago.

“Today was a really strong head wind in the last 10 kilometres so we knew we had to wait a little later than usual to move to the front. The team rode really well again and we were doing everything right up until that final sprint again.”

With seven predominantly climbing stages remaining and a final individual time trial to end the race, Ewan could easily bow out. However the 22-year-old said he will continue — for now.

“I feel good physically,” said Ewan. “I felt good yesterday and I felt good again today.

"I will continue the Giro day-by-day. When I feel myself too deep in fatigue it will be time to stop and focus on the other races I have coming up."

Aaron S. Lee is a cycling correspondent for Eurosport, and contributor to VeloNews, Cyclist Magazine and 220 Triathlon …

Stage 13 results – Reggio Emilia to Tortona (167km)

1. Fernando Gaviria, COL, Quick-Step Floors, 3:47:45

2. Sam Bennett, IRL, Bora-Hansgrohe, s.t.

3. Jasper Stuyven, BEL, Trek-Segafredo, s.t.

General Classification (previous)

1 (1). Tom Dumoulin, NED, Sunweb, 56:28:53

2 (2). Nairo Quintana, COL, Movistar, +2:23

3 (3). Bauke Mollema, NED, Trek-Segafredo, +2:38

89 (90). Adam Hansen, AUS, Lotto Soudal, +1:13:53

122 (122). Michael Hepburn, AUS, Orica-Scott, +1:36:23

158 (155). Rory Sutherland, AUS, Movistar, +1:54:33

160 (164). Alex Edmondson, AUS, Orica-Scott, +1:55:30

169 (170). Caleb Ewan, AUS, Orica-Scott, +2:02:07

DNF — Rohan Dennis, AUS, BMC Racing (Stage 4)

DNF — Nathan Haas, AUS, Dimension Data (Stage 11)