Stuyven emerged victorious from a three-man front group, pipping Yves Lampaert (Deceuninck-QuickStep) in a sprint finish after distancing Soren Kragh Andersen (Sunweb).

Stuyven pips Lampaert for Omloop glory

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad
Omloop Het Nieuwsblad Highlights: Stuyven claims biggest win of his career
29/02/2020 AT 19:13
The 199.8-kilometre journey from Gent to Ninove promised to be unpredictable after favourite Mathieu van der Poel withdrew unexpectedly with flu on Thursday.
And there was drama from the start as the early breakaway’s charge was halted by a train crossing, with the race eventually coming back together at the halfway mark.
An eight-strong group then pulled clear with 74 kilometres remaining, pouncing after two-time champion Greg van Avermaet (CCC) aborted a solo break at the foot of the Rekelberg.
Eight became seven when Jonas Rutsch (EF Pro Cycling) fell away, leaving Stuyven, Lampaert, Kragh Andersen, Frederik Frison (Lotto-Soudal), Tim Declerq (Deceuninck-QuickStep), Matteo Trentin (CCC) and Mike Teunissen (Jumbo-Visma) to press on.

Breakaway group stopped by train

The leaders turned a fierce pace, building a gap of over two minutes as the peloton squabbled over a possible pursuit, leaving the previous winners stranded in the main bunch.
Stuyven and Lampaert rode clear on the penultimate climb up the picturesque Muur-Kapelmuur and were soon joined by Kragh Andersen with 17 kilometres remaining.
Still the pace did not relent as Stuyven and Lampaert exchanged turns at the front, sucking along a spent Kragh Andersen who was eventually dropped inside the final two kilometres.
And it was Stuyven who prevailed, leading out from the front for sprint success ahead of Lampaert in a Belgian one-two.


  • 1. Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo
  • 2. Yves Lampaert (Bel) Deceuninck-QuickStep
  • 3. Soren Kragh Andersen (Den) Sunweb
  • 4. Matteo Trentin (Ita) CCC Team
  • 5. Tim Declercq (Bel) Deceuninck-QuickStep
  • 6. Mike Teunissen (Ned) Jumbo-Visma
  • 7. Oliver Naesen (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale
  • 8. Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Lotto Soudal
  • 9. Stefan Küng (Swi) Groupama-FDJ
  • 10. Florian Sénéchal (Fra) Deceuninck-QuickStep
Omloop Het Nieuwsblad
Highlights: Van Vleuten goes solo to win Omloop
29/02/2020 AT 16:58
Omloop Het Nieuwsblad
Stuyven pips Lampaert for Omloop glory
29/02/2020 AT 15:59