Britain’s Mark Cavendish (Deceuninck-QuickStep) grabbed his fourth stage win of the Tour of Turkey in another dramatic sprint finish.
The 35-year-old had not won in almost three years before the race, but he now looks to be back to his best form after sealing another victory on Stage 8.
Jose Manuel Diaz (Delko) came home in the peloton to secure the GC win by just one second from Jay Vine (Alpecin-Fenix).
Tour de France
Paradise for Pogacar? All you need to know about the 2022 Tour route - Blazin’ Saddles
14/10/2021 AT 22:06
"We had an amazing week, we really enjoyed ourselves and taking my 150th pro victory as part of this incredible team is just the cherry on the cake," said Cavendish.
Cavendish narrowly beat Jasper Philipsen (Alpecin-Fenix) to the line after sitting behind the Belgian and Andre Greipel (Israel Start-Up Nation) for the majority of the 160km stage from Bodrum to Kusadasi.
After missing out to Philipsen in the previous two bunch sprints, this time Cavendish had too much for his rival in what was an extremely tense finish.

Highlights: Inspired Cavendish wins tense Stage 8 in Turkey

"Having them by my side allowed me to keep enough energy for the final kilometers of the stage where it was real messy again, but fortunately a gap opened just as I started my sprint and I could beat Philipsen on the line.
"Today was harder than we imagined it was going to be, as we had different races within the race for all the various classifications," Cavendish said.
"The stage was full gas from the beginning and it went like this for more than 100 kilometres, until a break finally got away. We had Stijn [Steels] there, while I could rely on the likes of Iljo [Keisse], Fabio [Jakobsen] and Shane [Archbold] when we came to the crucial point of the stage, that nasty classified climb with 20km to go.
"I’m happy to get my fourth stage win here, it feels really great."

Tour of Turkey - Final GC

  • 1. Jose Manuel Diaz Gallego (Spa) Delko 29:19:40
  • 2. Jay Vine (Aus) Alpecin-Fenix +1
  • 3. Eduardo Sepulveda (Arg) Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec +6
  • 4. Jhojan Orlando Garcia Susa (Col) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA +25
  • 5. Merhawi Kudus (Eri) Astana-Premier Tech +28
  • 6. Anthon Charmig (Den) Uno-X Pro Cycling Team +30
  • 7. Delio Fernandez Cruz (Spa) Delko +33
  • 8. Artem Nych (Rus) Gazprom-RusVelo +52
  • 9. Anders Halland Johannessen (Nor) Uno-X Pro Cycling Team +55
  • 10. Garikoitz Bravo Oiarbide (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi +1:01
Hayter wins British men's time trial title, Henderson takes women's
14/10/2021 AT 16:47
‘It’s going to be very hard’ - Cavendish on 2022 Tour route set up for all-rounders
14/10/2021 AT 16:04