Getty Images

Geraint Thomas and Geoghegan Hart lead British World Championship team

Geraint Thomas and Geoghegan Hart lead British World Championship team

18/09/2019 at 16:25Updated 18/09/2019 at 21:08

Geraint Thomas, Tao Geoghegan Hart and Adam Yates are among the biggest names who will be representing Great Britain at the upcoming World Road Championships.

The event is set to take place in Yorkshire between September 21 and September 30 and will feature the likes of Tour de France champion Egan Bernal.

And now British Cycling has announced the home squad, which will comprise of four Team Ineos riders - Geoghegan Hart, Thomas, Owain Doull and Ian Stannard, along with Mitchelton-SCOTT's Adam Yates and Katusha–Alpecin's Alex Dowsett.

Britain have named only six riders, rather than eight, after falling outside the top-10 ranked nations.

"We have such a talent pool of elite men's road riders in this country that final selection was quite tricky even though the course is so challenging," said Matt Brammeier, British Cycling's elite men's road coach.

" Looking at the time trial, we have selected two very experienced time trial riders this year in G (Thomas) and Alex, both of whom suit the course and as such we can expect to see good performances from them both."

"G will then stick around to compete in the road race on the Sunday, and will no doubt be a valuable asset to the team in the final laps."

The elite men's road race is a hilly 284.5km course starting from Leeds and taking in seven laps of the Harrogate circuit. The time trial is a 32.5km course from Ripon to Harrogate.

This is the first time that Britain has played host to the World Road Championships since 1982.

The class of 2019 will be looking to emulate Mark Cavendish, the last Brit to win the men's road race, back in 2011.

With additional reporting from Reuters

GB Elite Men's Time Trial - 25 September

Geraint Thomas

Alex Dowsett

Elite Men's Road Race - 29 September

Geraint Thomas

Adam Yates

Owain Doull

Tao Geoghegan Hart

Ian Stannard

Ben Swift