La Baule, some fortifying sea air to start the Jumping Nations Cup circuit

La Baule, some fortifying sea air to start the Jumping Nations Cup circuit

16/05/2019 at 10:17Updated 16/05/2019 at 10:18

From May 15th to May 19th, best riders around the world will gather in La Baule for the first leg of the Longines FEI Jumping Nations Cup. This year, eight nations are on the start list : Belgium, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Great Britain, Ireland and Switzerland.

For the past fifty-nine years, many international riders have traditionally chosen La Baule, and the sea air to open their outdoor season. This week-end will also be the kick-off of the Longines FEI Jumping Nations Cup. First confrontation of the European Division 1, the Nations Cup of La Baule is part of the eleven legs before the world final in Barcelona in October. Fifty countries were competing last years in the circuit located according three geographic zones : Division 1 of Europe / Northern America, Central America and Caribbean / Middle East. In the Division 1 of Europe, ten nations among the best are competing in 2019. Among them, six will be represented this week-end in La Baule : Germany, Belgium, France, Great Britain, Ireland, and Switzerland. Only Austria, Italy, Netherlands and Sweden will not be present. Nevertheless, Canada and Brazil will also join the party. Brazil’s team will try to be as performant as last year as they won the leg. In 2018, the team was composed by Luiz Felipe Azevedo Filho, Felipe Amaral, Yuri Mansur and Pedro Veniss. Netherlands with Jur Vrieling, Franck Schuttert, Marc Houtzager and Harrie Smolders took the second place. Represented by Werner Muff, Paul Estermann, Alain Juffer and Steve Guerdat, Switzerland was in third position.

Beside the Longines FEI Jumping Nations Cup, spectators will enjoy all week end long several 5* trials including a Grand Prix and of course the prestigious derby. Last year, Colombia’s Rene Lopez on Destiny’s Child won this mythical show followed by France’s Harold Boisset and Vakhenaton and Switzerland’s Steve Guerdat on Vernard de Cerisy. The world number one will be there again this year, as well as world number eight, American Kent Farrington. Among the great champions, Belgium’s Niels Bruynseels, Nicola Philippaerts and Gregory Wathelet, France’s Simon Delestre, Roger-Yves Bost and Patrice Delaveau, Germany’s Max Kühner, Brazil Pedro Veniss will ensure to spectators a great show.

Regarding Great Britain’s representatives, five riders will join the festivities in La Baule. And the team is rather young as three of them are under twenty-five years old : James Wilson, Amy Inglis and Harry Charles. The last one was in Windsor last week with the last two Britain riders, Holly Smith and William Funnell in great shape in front of his home crowd.

Full schedule here: