Avcioğlu leads field into final day of 2018 ERC action

Avcioğlu leads field into final day of 2018 ERC action

13/10/2018 at 20:56Updated 13/10/2018 at 20:57

Toksport WRT’s Orhan Avcioğlu will lead the FIA European Rally Championship field into the final day of competition in 2018, starting first on the road for leg two on Rally Liepāja.

Avcioğlu, who is currently in ninth place, will lead the ERC crews into stage seven on Sunday morning, followed by Niki Mayr-Melnhof, who is not registered for ERC points.

Two young stars in R5 cars depart after May-Melnhof, with Rhys Yates (Kresta Racing) and Filip Mareš (ACCR Czech Rally Team) third and fourth on the road respectively, followed by Eyvind Brynildsen and Łukasz Habaj (eSky Rally Team) starting fifth and sixth.

After Fredrik Åhlin starting seventh, the trio of ERC Junior Under 28 title contenders depart eighth, ninth and tenth respectively, with Fabian Kreim (ŠKODA AUTO Deutschland), Chris Ingram (Toksport WRT) and Nikolay Gryazin (Sports Racing Technologies) all battling for glory.

Laurent Pellier will not be joining his ERC Junior U28 cohorts on leg two, with PEUGEOT Rally Academy electing not to restart tomorrow. He had retired due to technical issues after stage six.

Also on the sidelines will be Sindre Furuseth, who dropped out of third place in ERC Junior Under 27 with an oil leak after stage five.

Avcioğlu will kick off 2018’s final day of ERC action at 10h00 local time, setting off into the Canon Biznesa Centrs – IB Serviss (Dinsdurbe).