Salah and De Bruyne are joined on the shortlist by Harry Kane, David de Gea, Leroy Sane and David Silva.
Kane and Sane are also nominated for the Young Player of the Year award - along with Fulham's Ryan Sessegnon, the first player from outside the top flight to ever be nominated.
Premier League
Analysis: Block midfield, attack wing-backs – How Guardiola can end Tuchel hoodoo
Salah has perhaps been the most impressive new signing of the season, and is set to finish as the Premier League's top scorer. He has 29 league goals, and 39 in total, in 44 appearances in all competitions.
Kane trails him by four goals in the league and three goals overall for the season, and the two are competing with one another to claim the Premier League's Golden Boot.

[VOTE: Who deserves to win the PFA Player of the Year award?]

Manchester United goalkeeper David de Gea has again excelled between the sticks, keeping his side in contention in games with saves that other 'keepers would find impossible to match.
There are three Manchester City players nominated for the award.

Manchester City's Spanish manager Pep Guardiola (L) talks to Manchester City's Belgian midfielder Kevin De Bruyne

Image credit: Getty Images

Sane has had a season interrupted by injury, but is one of the league's best young players, which is the reason for the double nomination.
Silva's superb form has been doubly impressive after dealing with personal problems for much of the season after the premature birth of his son.
De Bruyne was the early favourite for the award as his improvement under Pep Guardiola has seen him become the most dangerous midfielder in the league.
PFA Player of the Year shortlist: Mohamed Salah, Kevin De Bruyne, Leroy Sane, David Silva, David De Gea, Harry Kane
PFA Young Player of the Year shortlist: Harry Kane, Ryan Sessegnon, Leroy Sane, Raheem Sterling, Ederson, Marcus Rashford.
League Cup
Carabao Cup: City down Wycombe as Everton and Watford knocked out
Premier League
Nuno: Kane and Spurs must move on from the summer