Manchester United captain Harry Maguire on penalty controversy: Luke Shaw misheard referee comment
Harry Maguire has reportedly told Manchester United officials that Luke Shaw misheard referee Stuart Atwell during the 0-0 draw with Chelsea. Shaw had earlier claimed he heard Atwell tell Maguire he didn't give a penalty for handball by Callum Hudson-Odoi due to a potential backlash. The left-back told Sky Sports he heard the referee say that if he gave the penalty, it would cause "a lot of talk".
Solskjaer: 'We should have had a penalty and that's clear'
Harry Maguire of Manchester United and Olivier Giroud of Chelsea interact with Match Referee, Stuart Attwell after a VAR decision during the Premier League match between Chelsea and Manchester United at Stamford Bridge on February 28, 2021 in London, Engl
Image credit: Getty Images
Speaking to Sky Sports after the game United defender Shaw expressed his frustration with the decision and said he heard Atwell tell Maguire he didn’t want to give the penalty because of the potential backlash.
"At the time, I saw a handball," he said. "I didn't know whether it was Mason or Callum. I just carried on. I didn't even know there was a potential check.
"I don't know why they stopped [the game] if it wasn't going to be a pen. The ref even said to H (Harry Maguire): 'if I say it is a pen, then it is going to cause a lot of talk about it after', so I don't know what happened there.
H said that they got told it was a pen. He got told it was a penalty by VAR so I'm not sure what's gone on.
"I don't understand why he's stopped. If he's going to stop, you would think maybe he is going to give a pen, because we had the ball. We were attacking.
"It's confusing with this VAR, because if it's not going to be a pen, they might as well carry on, not stop the flow of the game. But I'm not going to moan about it, because I don't think either team did enough to win."