Messi votes for Ronaldo… but the favour is not returned

Share this with
Share this article

Lionel Messi und Cristiano Ronaldo

Image credit: Getty Images

ByMichael Hincks
23/09/2019 at 20:30 | Updated 23/09/2019 at 21:50

The FIFA Best Men’s Player saw Lionel Messi beat Virgil van Dijk and Cristiano Ronaldo to the award – but who voted for who?

As Argentina captain, Messi made Liverpool’s Sadio Mane his first pick, with Ronaldo second and Frenkie de Jong third.


The Warm-Up: Carragher's Werner warning as United count cost of coronavirus

22/05/2020 AT 07:42

Portugal captain Ronaldo, meanwhile, did not choose Messi in his top three – picking Juventus team-mate Matthijs de Ligt, De Jong and Kylian Mbappe.

Van Dijk picked Messi first, with the Netherlands skipper then voting for Liverpool team-mates Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane.

In total, Messi won 46 ranking points to win his sixth FIFA player of the year award, with Van Dijk (38) securing two more points than Ronaldo.

  • Messi, Rapinoe named FIFA players of the year at The Best Awards

Lionel Messi

Image credit: Getty Images


Belgium skipper Eden Hazard also voted Mane first, then Van Dijk second and Messi third.

Messi was the first pick for Harry Kane (England), Riyad Mahrez (Algeria), Dani Alves (Brazil) and Hugo Lloris (France) among others.

Luka Modric (Croatia), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon) and Granit Xhaka (Switzerland) were among those who put Ronaldo first.

Van Dijk was the first choice for Bayern Munich duo Manuel Neuer (Germany) and Robert Lewandowski (Poland).

Kane finished 10th overall, and he has Tottenham team-mate Heung-min Son to thanks after the South Korea captain picked the England forward.

Guyana skipper Sam Cox and Trinidad and Tobago's Khaleem Hyland also plumped for Kane in first.


Ronaldo returns to Juventus training after two months

19/05/2020 AT 10:58

Zlatan on Messi and Ronaldo level - Mancini

18/04/2020 AT 20:43
Related Topics
FootballCristiano RonaldoLionel Messi
Share this with
Share this article

Latest News


Barcelona to wait for August to sign Martinez - Paper Round


Latest Videos


Inter insert anti-Juve clause as PSG agree €60m Icardi fee – Euro Papers


Most popular


Froome - 'Finestre felt my real personality coming out, I rose to the occasion'

28/05/2020 AT 15:19
View more