Muller tops Marrakesh Formula E test for Audi

Muller tops Marrakesh Formula E test for Audi

13/01/2019 at 16:35Updated 13/01/2019 at 16:44

Audi’s Nico Muller topped the ABB FIA Formula E rookie test in Marrakesh ahead of DS Techeetah’s James Rossiter and Dragon driver Antonio Fuoco.

Muller topped both the morning and afternoon running, with a best time of 1m17.532s in the first session and an overall fastest lap of 1m17.074s that he set late in the afternoon.

Rossiter ended up just 0.115s behind Muller’s best time of the day, having both of Techeetah’s cars in the afternoon as the team wanted to have continuity across its machines to validate a test it was running.

That meant Tatiana Calderon did not drive in the afternoon after she had set the second fastest time in the morning, 0.142s slower than Muller in the session. 

Fuoco wound up third fastest in the sole Dragon entry.

Ex-Formula 1 driver Felipe Nasr appeared on the official entry list for the second Dragon car, but he did not take to the track at any point during the day, although he was observed in the Marrakesh paddock.

Nyck de Vries moved to the top of the times towards the end of the afternoon running, but  was eventually shuffled down to fifth for Virgin Racing.

The 2019 ART Grand Prix F2 driver lost 90 minutes in the morning after damaging his rear suspension on a kerb. 

Behind de Vries came Jann Mardenborough for Nissan e.dams, Bruno Spengler (BMW Andretti) and HWA’s Raffaele Marciello, with Arthur Leclerc and Norman Nato rounding out the top 10 for Venturi.

Former Williams F1 driver Sergey Sirotkin was 11th ahead of fellow Mahindra runner Sam Dejonghe.

Nato caused the second of the morning’s red flags – the first was called out so debris could be removed from the track – when he stopped with a powertrain issue midway through that session. 

Jamie Green caused a late red flag in the afternoon when he crashed his Audi at Turn 7, causing damage to the rear of the car.

Test results:

1  Nico Muller  Audi Sport Abt 1:17.074 - 98
2  James Rossiter  DS Techeetah 1:17.189 0.115 87
3  Antonio Fuoco  Dragon 1:17.338 0.264 89
4  Nyck de Vries  Virgin 1:17.560 0.486 54
5  Jann Mardenborough  Nissan e.dams 1:17.672 0.598 67
6  Tatiana Calderon  DS Techeetah 1:17.674 0.600 41
7  Bruno Spengler  BMW Andretti 1:17.735 0.661 76
8  Raffaele Marciello  HWA 1:17.763 0.689 85
9  Arthur Leclerc  Venturi 1:17.782 0.708 73
10  Norman Nato  Venturi 1:18.059 0.985 69
11  Sergey Sirotkin  Mahindra 1:18.097 1.023 57
12  Sam Dejonghe  Mahindra 1:18.155 1.081 58
13  Mitsunori Takaboshi  Nissan e.dams 1:18.229 1.155 58
14  Jamie Green  Audi Sport Abt 1:18.250 1.176 99
15  Pietro Fittipaldi  Jaguar 1:18.403 1.329 79
16  Daniel Juncadella  HWA 1:18.555 1.481 77
17  Harry Tincknell  Jaguar 1:18.623 1.549 69
18  Marco Wittmann  BMW Andretti 1:18.727 1.653 89
19  Jake Hughes  NIO 1:19.631 2.557 74
20  Benoit Treluyer  Virgin 1:21.181 4.107 97
21  Jamie Chadwick  NIO 1:22.196 4.664 71
22  Felipe Nasr  Dragon no time - -