The car in which the German recorded pole in Saturday's qualifying session failed to comply with the minimum tyre pressure of 1.60bar, a breach of article 25.11 of Formula E's 2016-17 sporting regulations.

This dictates that 'All competitors must comply with the working ranges of the tyres (minimum and maximum camber, minimum cold and hot pressure) as communicated by the tyre manufacturer before the end of initial scrutineering.'

Formula E
Motor racing-New SuperCharge series aims to showcase electric road cars
21/10/2020 AT 17:03

As a result, the Audi Sport Abt driver has been sent to 18th position on the grid.

NextEV driver Oliver Turvey will instead start the race from pole - his first in Formula E - ahead of DS Virgin driver Jose Maria Lopez.

Jean-Eric Vergne (Techeetah) now heads the second row, and will start alongside Mahindra's Nick Heidfled fourth.

Faraday Future Dragon driver Jerome d'Ambrosio was also hit with a penalty for the same issue as Abt, and will start the race from 19th on the starting grid after originally qualifying in ninth position.

His team-mate Loic Duval starts last after crashing out of qualifying.

Antonio Felix Da Costa was the last man to fall foul of tyre pressure rules during qualifying, losing his pole at Long Beach last season for a similar infraction.


1 Turvey (NextEV)

2 Lopez (DS Virgin Racing)

3 Vergne (Techeetah)

4 Heidfeld (Mahindra)

5 Bird (DS Virgin Racing)

6 da Costa (Andretti)

7 Buemi (Renault e.dams)

8 Rosenqvist (Mahindra)

9 Gutierrez (Techeetah)

10 Carroll (Jaguar)

11 Evans (Jaguar)

12 Engel (Venturi)

13 Prost (Renault e.dams)

14 Frijns (Andretti)

15 di Grassi (Abt Audi Sport)

16 Piquet (NextEV)

17 Sarrazin (Venturi)

18 Abt (Abt Audi Sport)

19 d'Ambrosio (Faraday/Dragon)

20 Duval (Faraday/Dragon)

Formula E
The best moments from the Formula E season
16/08/2020 AT 12:14
Formula E
Vandoorne wins in Berlin as Formula E season comes to a suitably exciting close
13/08/2020 AT 18:32