Golf

Henley hit with bizarre eight-stroke penalty in Mexico

Share this with
Copy
Share this article
ByReuters
16/11/2019 at 20:52 | Updated 16/11/2019 at 20:53

Nov 16 (Reuters) - Russell Henley incurred a bizarre eight-stroke penalty in the second round at the Mayakoba Classic on Saturday after realising that one of the balls he had played was different from the rest.

The three-times PGA Tour winner was signing balls for fans when he noticed the discrepancy and received a two-stroke penalty for each of the holes he played the different ball.

"(Henley) suffered a 2-stroke penalty on holes 9-12, 8 strokes in total, for breach of Rule 20-3," the PGA Tour announced in a tweet.

Golf

Day says disciplined routine has helped him keep back issues at bay

11 MINUTES AGO

"As Henley signed balls for fans he noticed one ball had a slight difference from the ball he uses. He didn't know how it got in his bag."

Under the "One Ball Rule" used on most professional tours, golfers must use the same brand and make of ball throughout a round.

With the eight strokes added, Henley shot a six-over-par 77 and missed the cut.

He carded 66 in the opening round and without the penalty would have been within striking distance of the lead. (Reporting by Andrew Both in Cary, North Carolina, editing by Ed Osmond)

Golf

Tiger finds that looks can be deceiving at Harding Park

AN HOUR AGO
Golf

Koepka overcomes hip tightness to stay in contention at PGA Championship

2 HOURS AGO
Related Topics
Golf
Share this with
Copy
Share this article