Neil Robertson ousts Rhys Clark at Gibraltar Open

Neil Robertson ousts Rhys Clark at Gibraltar Open
By Eurosport

03/03/2017 at 21:53Updated 03/03/2017 at 23:46

Neil Robertson beat Rhys Clark 4-2 to set up a fourth round showdown with Jamie Jones at the Gibraltar Open.

World number seven Robertson, who overcame Jaspal Bamotra and Chris Wakelin earlier on Friday, compiled runs of 59 and 61 to open up a two-frame advantage.

Clark, however, got his hand on the table in the third to get on the scoreboard with a run of 61 but the Thunder from Down Under re-opened his two-frame advantage by taking the fourth.

Robertson looked set to wrap up proceedings in the fifth with a 58 but Clark managed to emerge with the frame.

However, it just postponed the inevitable as Robertson secured his progression to round four minutes later.

Elsewhere, Anthony Hamilton fell 4-0 to Jack Lisowski, who put in a superlative performance that included breaks of 104, 106, 83 and 129.

Gibraltar Open third round results

Ryan Day 4 – 3 Luca Brecel

Neil Robertson 4 – 2 Rhys Clark

John Astley 4 – 1 Ben Woollaston

Jamie Jones 4 – 1 Joe Perry

Mark Allen 4 – 1 David B Gilbert

Rhys Clark 4 – 3 Mitchell Mann

Sanderson Lam 4 – 1 Peter Ebdon

Judd Trump 4 - 1 Matthew Selt

Jack Lisowski 4 - 0 Anthony Hamilton