Scene Setter

The Players Championship follows on from the Welsh Open, as the players move back to Milton Keynes at the Marshall Arena.
Judd Trump defeated Yan BIngtao in the 2020 final and he will be back to defend his title in 2021.
World Championship
Key dates and schedule for 2022-23 snooker season as O'Sullivan defends world crown
13/05/2022 AT 11:44
The world number one will be joined by Ronnie O'Sullivan, Australian Neil Robertson, and Mark Selby in the 16-man draw which is based on the top 16 players in the one-year ranking list.
World number one Trump will be the favourite to take the prize as he tops the year-round rankings with 450,000 points, prior to the Welsh Open.
The event kicks off on February 22, with 16 players fighting for a share of the £385,000 prize fund. A cheque for £125,000 will be picked up by the winner on February 28.

What is the format?

Players have had to get used to different formats in recent weeks, with the Championship League and Shoot Out to occupy their thoughts, before returning to the Welsh Open and its standard draw system.
There are 16 players for Round 1, before moving onto the quarter-finals and semi-finals. All of these matches will be decided on a best-of-11 basis, before the final is decided on a best-of-19 final.

How to watch the event

The 2021 Players Championship is live on ITV.
We will cover the event with report and reaction on and the Eurosport app.


Monday February 22
  • Judd Trump 5-6 Stuart Bingham
  • Kyren Wilson 6-1 Ryan Day
Tuesday February 23
  • Neil Robertson 6-1 Lu Ning
  • Jack Lisowski 6-3 Martin Gould
  • Ronnie O'Sullivan 6-5 Ding Junhui
  • Zhou Yuelong 5-6 Barry Hawkins
Wednesday February 24
  • Mark Selby 6-4 Mark Williams
  • Jordan Brown 0-6 John Higgins
  • Stuart Bingham 2-6 Barry Hawkins
Thursday February 25
  • Neil Robertson 2-6 Kyren Wilson
  • Jack Lisowski 1-6 Ronnie O'Sullivan
Friday February 26
  • John Higgins 6-0 Mark Selby
  • Ronnie O'Sullivan 6-4 Barry Hawkins
Saturday February 27
  • Kyren Wilson 1-6 John Higgins
Sunday February 28
  • Ronnie O'Sullivan 3-10 John Higgins

Prize Money

  • Winner: £125,000
  • Runner-up: £50,000
  • Semi-final: £30,000
  • Quarter-final: £15,000
  • Last 16: £10,000
  • Highest break: £10,000

Previous Winners

The Players Championship has been running since 2011, with eight different winners since its inception.
  • 2020 Judd Trump
  • 2019 Ronnie O'Sullivan
  • 2018 Ronnie O'Sullivan
  • 2017 Judd Trump
  • 2016 Mark Allen
  • 2015 Joe Perry
  • 2014 Barry Hawkins
  • 2013 Ding Junhui
  • 2012 Stephen Lee
  • 2011 Shaun Murphy
World Championship qualifiers to be played over 19 frames
13/05/2022 AT 07:43
Opinion: O’Sullivan has found a formula for success that can bring more glory
12/05/2022 AT 13:11