Snooker news – Emma Parker loses Shoot Out opener against Laxman Rawat

Emma Parker loses Shoot Out opener against Laxman Rawat

22/02/2019 at 22:27Updated 23/02/2019 at 11:42

The women’s U21 number one Emma Parker fell in the first round at the Shoot Out event in Watford after losing her one-frame match against Laxman Rawat on Friday night.

However, Indian Rawat held his nerve to secure a 61-17 in their one-frame showdown.

Meanwhile, Martin Gould secured the only century in Friday’s action, beating Lian Highfield 100-7 in his 10-minute match.

World number 11 Shaun Murphy overcame fellow Englishman Mark King 52-12, while the second match of Friday evening saw Kishan Hirana edge a thrilling encounter 55-54 against Bingtao Yan, who ran out of time when needing to pot the yellow to win.

Anthony McGill fell 56-20 to Barry Pinches. Luca Brecel struck an impressive 74 in beating Farakh Ajaib 75-11.


David Gilbert, Stuart Bingham and Graeme Dott were among the players to progress to the Shoot Out second round on an action-packed afternoon at the one-frame event in Watford.

A break of 50 helped Gilbert beat Anthony Hamilton 95-0 in front of a boisterous crowd at the unique tournament.

Dott then overcame Martin O’Donnell 69-22 in the final match of Friday’s afternoon session, which started with Bingham’s 84-0 win over Matthew Stevens.

Former world champion Bingham played up to the crowd in his victory, needlessly playing for the yellow – much to their delight – on a number of occasions once the frame was wrapped up.

Elsewhere, Dominic Dale rolled back the years, with the 47-year-old beating teenager Yuan Sijun 57-18.

Snooker’s very own Robbie Williams narrowly lost 24-18 to Ryan Davies, while Michael Holt impressed in his 64-0 win over Yuelong Zhou.


The Shoot Out is a unique tournament which sees all matches played in a single frame and lasting a maximum of ten minutes. There is a shot clock of 15 seconds for the first five minutes and ten seconds for the last five.


Ricky Walden v Luca Brecel

Ryan Davies v Ben Mertens

Luke Simmonds v Hamza Akbar

Thepchaiya Un-Nooh v Mei Xi Wen

Sunny Akani v Billy Joe Castle

Kurt Maflin v Gary Wilson

Dominic Dale v Thor Chuan Leong

Peter Devlin v Rory McLeod

Kyren Wilson v Elliot Slessor

Jamie Clarke v Mitchell Mann

Daniel Wells v Craig Steadman

John J Astley v Jimmy White

Joe Swail v Mike Dunn

Steven Hallworth v Tom Ford

Kishan H Hirani v Laxman Raway

Adam Duffy v David Gilbert

Shaun Murphy v Stuart Bingham

Matthew Selt v Tian Pengfei

Ben Woolaston v Barry Punches

Ali Carter v Zhao Xintong

Hossein Vafaei v Allan Taylor

Michael White v Joel Walker

Oliver Lines v Martin Gould

Alan McManus v Jimmy Robertson

Xiao Guodong v Graeme Dott

Rod Lawler v Chen Feilong

Peter Lines v Jak Jones

Li Hang v Michael Georgiou

Stephen Bateman v Sam Baird

Andy Hicks v Michael Holt

Ken Doherty v Lukas Klekcers

Zhang Anda v Barry Hawkins