Snooker news - Ronnie O'Sullivan begins Masters campaign with victory over Stuart Bingham, Ding wins

O'Sullivan begins Masters campaign with victory over Bingham, Ding coasts through
By Eurosport

13/01/2019 at 23:07Updated 15/01/2019 at 18:05

Ronnie O'Sullivan began his Masters campaign with a 6-2 win over 2015 world champion Stuart Bingham at the Alexandra Palace.

The five-times world champion - chasing a record eighth Masters title at the sport's biggest invitational event - lost a scrappy first frame before clicking into gear with breaks of 59, 96, 134, 111 and 60 helping him ease 5-1 clear at the London venue.

Video - O'Sullivan seals place in last eight at Masters


Bingham rolled in 71 to close to 5-2 behind before a 66 saw O'Sullivan force a re-spotted black after Bingham had opened up with a fine 62.

The frame could have gone either way before a safety error by Bingham enabled O'Sullivan to sink a mid-range black to finish off the match.

O'Sullivan will face Ryan Day in the last eight after the Welshman's 6-5 win over John Higgins on Sunday night.

Video - O'Sullivan: I don't want to get to greedy in trophy hunt


2011 Masters champion Ding Junhui enjoyed a 6-1 win over Jack Lisowski in his opening match on Monday.

China's leading player was back to his best in setting up a meeting with Luca Brecel in the last eight after the Belgian's epic 6-5 win over defending champion Mark Allen in the tournament opener on Sunday.

Video - Ding is mobbed by autograph hunters


Tournament debutant Lisowski had chances in several frames, but Ding was clinical pinching the opening four frames before compiling 123 for a 5-0 lead.

A run of 60 by Lisowski staved off the whitewash before Ding completed his progress with a dominant performance in the seventh frame.

Video - Ding produces two breathtaking pots



  • Mark Allen 5-6 Luca Brecel
  • Ding Junhui 6-1 Jack Lisowski
  • John Higgins 5-6 Ryan Day
  • Ronnie O'Sullivan 6-2 Stuart Bingham
  • Mark Selby v Stephen Maguire
  • Judd Trump v Kyren Wilson
  • Barry Hawkins v Shaun Murphy
  • Mark Williams 3-6 Neil Robertson