Ronnie O'Sullivan and Neil Robertson lose in Welsh Open second round

O'Sullivan and Robertson lose in Welsh Open second round
By Eurosport

15/02/2017 at 16:08Updated 16/02/2017 at 01:53

Former world champion Neil Robertson suffered an early exit at the Welsh Open as last year's finalist suffered a 4-3 defeat to world number 94 Lee Walker in the second round in Cardiff.

Eurosport Player special offer - 2017 pass for just £19.99

Defending Welsh Open champion O'Sullivan is also out after he saw Mark Davis hit back from trailing 3-0 to complete 4-3 win at the Motorpoint Arena.

The 44-year-old looked set to be whitewashed when he trailed O'Sullivan 3-0 but a nerveless break of 81 helped him drag the match back level before claiming victory in the decider.

Video - White and Wenbo bring drama to Cardiff with astonishing misses


Fellow veterans Mark King and Anthony Hamilton have already clinched their first ranking titles this season and Davis said he now sees no reason why he cannot follow their examples.

Davis told Eurosport: "I watched Mark and Anthony and they have both been around a long time.

"They have managed to hold themselves together and do the business. You've just got to be persistent and keep going, and go out and do it for yourself."

On a day of shocks Robertson was beaten 4-3 by Lee Walker while Shaun Murphy, Marco Fu and Liang Wenbo also lost.

World champion Mark Selby avoided the same fate but only after twice having to come from behind to overcome Mike Dunn 4-2.

World number seven Robertson lost a close first frame before making immaculate breaks of 133, 143 - the highest of the event so far - and 55 to move 3-1 clear.

But he was forced to sit and sutffer as Walker won the next three frames - the fifth by the aid of a fluked final black - before compiling a brilliant 130 of his own in the decider to complete one of the biggest wins of his career.

In a day of shocks, Shaun Murphy also departed the tournament after suffering a 4-2 defeat to Josh Boileau.

Elsewhere, Marco Fu was drubbed 4-0 by Ross Muir while Stephen Maguire was ousted by Ian Burns, who held his nerve to win 4-3.

Maguire fought back from 3-1 to level proceedings at three apiece but Burns emerged from their first meeting victorious and will face either Rory McLeod or Stuart Bingham next.

There was another win for 15-year-old Welsh schooolkid Jackson Page, who turned over John Astley with a 4-3 success.

Video - The remarkable rise of 15-year-old snooker sensation Jackson Page


Page led 3-1 only for Astley to level at 3-3 before he dominated the deciding frame to secure a possible meeting in the last 32 with Judd Trump.

The Sheriff of Pottingham Anthony Hamilton continued his fine run of form as he beat Jamie Cope 4-1 to make the third round of the Welsh Open.

Video - Walker flukes black to deny Robertson


Hamilton, who won the German Masters earlier this month, compiled runs of 66, 132, 113 and 56 as he downed world number 74 to set up a third round tie with Craig Steadman, who beat Sam Baird by the same score.

Video - Walker holds nerve to stun Robertson


Latest Welsh Open second round results (round of 64)

  • Fergal O'Brien 4-2 Chris Wakelin
  • Zhou Yuelong 4-1 Paul S Davison
  • Graeme Dott 4-1 Adam Stefanow
  • Thepchaiya Un-Nooh 4-1 Ryan Day
  • Jamie Cope 1-4 Anthony Hamilton
  • Craig Steadman 4-1 Sam Baird
  • Stephen Maguire 3-4 Ian Burns
  • Jamie Jones 2-4 Dominic Dale
  • Ross Muir 4-0 Marco Fu
  • Lee Walker 4-3 Neil Robertson
  • Jackson Page 4-3 John J Astley
  • Hossein Vafaei Ayouri 4-2 Christopher Keogan
  • Andy Hicks 3-4 Robbie Williams
  • Igor Figueiredo 4-2 Anthony McGill
  • Stuart Carrington 4-2 Wang Yuchen
  • Elliot Slessor 2-4 Jimmy Robertson
  • Liang Wenbo 3-4 Michael White
  • Shaun Murphy 2-4 Josh Boileau
  • Robert Milkins 4-1 Eden Sharav
  • Ali Carter 4-1 Darryl Hill
  • Tian Pengfei 0-4 Barry Hawkins
  • Allan Tylor 1-4 Robin Hull
  • Mitchell Mann 4-2 Sean O'Sullivan
  • Ronnie O'Sullivan 3-4 Mark davis
  • Stuart Bingham 4-2 Rory McLeod
  • Kurt Maflin 4-3 James Wattana
  • Mike Dunn 2-4 Mark Selby
  • Judd Trump 4-2 Alex Borg
  • Mark Allen 4-1 Boonyarit Keattikun
  • Peter Ebdon 0-4 Mei Xi Wen
  • Thor Chuan Leong 3-4 Yan Bingtao