Getty Images

McGill comes back from 7-2 down to reach Crucible, Cahill creates history

McGill comes back from 7-2 down to reach Crucible, Cahill creates history
By Eurosport

17/04/2019 at 15:48Updated 17/04/2019 at 23:05

Anthony McGill came from 7-2 down to beat Robert Milkins 10-8 on Wednesday and reach the World Championships for the fifth time in a row.

A sloppy start from McGill saw Milkins open up a commanding lead, thanks in part to breaks of 59, 85 and 68.

However, a break of 97 kick-started McGill’s recovery which including a century break of 118.

Video - Who has won snooker's big prizes?


Milkins managed to add one frame amongst the carnage, but he had no more answers to McGill, who is currently ranked 24th in the world.

Meanwhile, James Cahill created history as he became the first ever amateur to qualify for the World Championships as he beat Michael Judge 10-6.

Two of China’s high-ranking players will not be at Sheffield after falling at the final hurdle.

Former English open champion Liang Wenbo knocked in a 141 but was beaten 10-6 by Gary Wilson, who opened with a ton and knocked in two more during an impressive victory.

Video - How Robertson won the China Open


Shoot-out winner Thepchaiya Un-Nooh is through to the Crucible finals as well after a 10-6 win over Joe O’Connor.

O’Connor knocked in two centuries during the match, including one in the opening frame, but a century of his own and six half-centuries saw Un-Nooh through.

2006 World Champion Graeme Dott is into the draw after a comprehensive 10-2 victory over Kurt Maflin.

He is joined by Joe Perry who beat Martin O'Donnell 10-3.

Scott Donaldson reached the finals for the first time in a nervy finish as he held on to beat Lu Ning 10-9.

Donaldson looked to be in complete control at 9-4 but Lu launched an impressive recovery to get it back to 9-9.

Donaldson managed to win the decider after a tense finish.


  • Gary Wilson 10-6 Liang Wenbo
  • Robert Milkins 8-10 Anthony McGill
  • Daniel Wells 8-10 Martin Gould
  • Michael Georgiou 10-8 Yan Bingtao
  • Eden Sharav 6-10 Zhou Yuelong
  • Mark Davis 10-7 Lyu Haotian
  • Thepchaiya Un-Nooh 10-6 Joe O’Connor
  • Michael Judge 6-10 James Cahill
  • Tian Pengfei 10-8 Matthew Stevens
  • Luo Honghao 10-8 Tom Ford
  • Graeme Dott 10-2 Kurt Maflin
  • Li Hang 10-8 Ben Woollaston
  • Ali Carter 10-4 John J Astley
  • Lu Ning 9-10 Scott Donaldson
  • Matthew Selt 4-10 Zhao Xintong
  • Martin O'Donnell 3-10 Joe Perry