Max Defourny (ART Junior Team) set best time in the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 collective tests at Circuito de Jerez. With a lap of 1:40.408 set in the morning session, the Belgian rookie led from Anthoine Hubert (Tech 1 Racing) for just a thousandth of a second. The fastest title contender on Friday, the driver of the FFSA ‘Equipe de France’ was followed by Ukyo Sasahara (ART Junior Team), Simon Gachet (Tech 1 Racing) and Amaury Richard (ARTA Engineering). Matevos Isaakyan (JD Motorsport) set the pace in the afternoon session.
Two races were on the programme this Saturday. Starting from pole position in the opener, Jack Aitken (Koiranen GP) maintained his advantage to score his fourth win of the season ahead of Kevin Jörg (Josef Kaufmann Racing) and Ignazio D’Agosto (Manor MP Motorsport). After clinching the Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS crown last weekend, the British-Korean driver repeated in race two, ahead of Ignazio D’Agosto and Ben Barnicoat (Fortec Motorsports). Failing to finish on the podium, Louis Delétraz (Josef Kaufmann Racing) lost the lead in the general classification for the first time this season. Harrison Scott (AVF) was the best placed rookie in both races.
The final race of the season saw Ben Barnicoat finish his first campaign in style as he converted pole position into his third victory of the year. The Racing Steps Foundation protégé finished ahead of Anthoine Hubert and Ignazio D’Agosto. Sixteenth at the end of the race, Jack Aitken won the 2015 championship, one week after winning the Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS crown on the same Jerez circuit. Switzerland’s Louis Delétraz and Kevin Jörg led Josef Kaufmann Racing to the team title. The best placed newcomer, Harrison Scott clinched rookie of the year honours.
Formula Renault 2.0
Eight contenders for the crown
16/10/2015 AT 12:18
Provisional general classification: 1. J. Aitken – 206 points, 2. L. Delétraz – 193, 3. K. Jörg – 193, 4. B. Barnicoat – 174, 5. A. Hubert – 160…
Formula Renault 2.0
Hubert, Barnicoat win at Le Mans to close gap on Deletraz
28/09/2015 AT 12:02
Formula Renault 2.0
Who will secure a win next?
24/09/2015 AT 17:33