With four winners in as many races, there is much to be played for in this category as focus turns to the Moscow Raceway.
Heading into the Russian meeting, Nyck de Vries (Koiranen GP) and Bruno Bonifacio (Prema Powerteam) are tied for the championship lead and looking to continue their excellent starts to the season by pulling away from their rivals.
Dennis Olsen (Prema Powerteam) is their most serious threat. The Norwegian will try to keep the momentum going after taking his first open-wheel success last time out at Spa.
Formula Renault 2.0
Barnicoat wins in Jerez, Aitken and Kaufmann champions
19/10/2015 AT 18:20
Among the other contenders, Andrea Pizzitola (Manor MP Motorsport), Kevin Jörg (Josef Kaufmann Racing) and local driver Egor Orudzhev (Tech 1 Racing) will want to stay in contact with the leaders.
Consistently in the top five, Levin Amweg (ART Junior Team) will be looking to continue his strong form. And other drivers such as Alexander Albon (KTR), Anthoine Hubert (Tech 1 Racing), Aurélien Panis (ART Junior Team) and Callan O’Keeffe (ART Junior Team) hope to reach the next level in taking their first podium results of the season.
The meeting in Moscow will be an opportunity to bounce back for several competitors. 2013 Formula Renault 2.0 NEC champion, Matt Parry (Fortec Motorsports) must get back in the race for the title, as must Ignazio D’Agosto (Koiranen GP) – on the podium last year – as well as Simon Gachet (ARTA Engineering) and Gustav Malja (Josef Kaufmann Racing), who both left Belgium pointless.
Current leader in the North European Cup, Steijn Schothorst (Manor MP Motorsport) is also yet to open his point tally at the circuit where he scored his only podium finish in 2013.
2013 results:
Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0
Qualifying 1: P. Gasly (FRA) 1:31.872.
Race 1: 1. P. Gasly (FRA) – 2. O. Rowland (GBR) – 3. S. Schothorst (NED)
Qualifying 2: E. Ocon (FRA) 131.451.
Race 2: 1. O. Rowland (GBR) – 2. E. Ocon (FRA) – 3. I. D’Agosto (ITA)
Formula Renault 2.0
Eight contenders for the crown
16/10/2015 AT 12:18
Formula Renault 2.0
Hubert, Barnicoat win at Le Mans to close gap on Deletraz
28/09/2015 AT 12:02