The Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 collective tests at Circuit Bugatti Le Mans went the way of Kevin Jörg (Josef Kaufmann Racing). The Swiss title contender posted the best time of 1:33.667 on Friday. Jack Aitken (Koiranen GP) and leader in the general classification, Louis Delétraz (Josef Kaufmann Racing) followed, while earlier in the day, Croatia’s Martin Kodrić (Fortec Motorsports) clocked the fastest lap. Harrison Scott (AVF) was quickest among the rookies.
Winner of race two of the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 at the Nürburgring, Ben Barnicoat (Fortec Motorsports) claimed his second consecutive victory on Saturday at Le Mans. The Racing Steps Foundation protégé was an opportunist during the opening lap to get the better of the Josef Kaufmann Racing duo of Kevin Jörg and Louis Delétraz, who had locked out row one. For the first time on the podium since Budapest, Louis Delétraz conserves his lead in the general classification by two points.
Starting from pole position, Anthoine Hubert (Tech 1 Racing) won race two. Surprised at the start by team mate Simon Gachet (Tech 1 Racing), the French driver returned the favour to take his second success of the season. While Simon Gachet crossed the line in second place, he lost the position to Dennis Olsen (Manor MP Motorsport) after short-cutting the chicane on the last lap. The Norwegian was back on the podium for the first time since Motorland Aragón. The fight for the title at Jerez will be massive because Louis Delétraz still leads the general classification with more victories than his team mate Kevin Jörg, but six drivers can still snatch the crown away from the Swiss duo in October.
Formula Renault 2.0
Barnicoat wins in Jerez, Aitken and Kaufmann champions
19/10/2015 AT 18:20
Provisional general classification: 1. L. Delétraz – 163 points, 2. K. Jörg – 163, 3. J. Aitken – 156, 4. A. Hubert – 148, 5. B. Barnicoat – 134…
Formula Renault 2.0
Eight contenders for the crown
16/10/2015 AT 12:18
Formula Renault 2.0
Who will secure a win next?
24/09/2015 AT 17:33