For its return to Silverstone after a four-year absence, the track record in the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 was improved by nearly one second. Jake Hughes (Koiranen GP) lowered the previous reference time set by Carlos Sainz in 2011 with a lap completed in 1:57.708. Second in the general classification, the British driver led from Kevin Jörg (Josef Kaufmann Racing) and championship leader Louis Delétraz (Josef Kaufmann Racing) in the collective test. Sahara Force India Academy protégé, Jehan Daruvala (Fortec Motorsports) was the fastest rookie on the day after posting the best time in the opening session.
There were two Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 races on the programme at Silverstone last Saturday. Starting from pole position in race 1, Jack Aitken (Koiranen GP) held on to his advantage to take his second victory of the season ahead of rookie Harrison Scott (AVF) and team-mate Hughes. Race 2 was a bit of a different story with Jörg, leaping from third on the grid to score his first triumph in the category since Moscow last year. The Swiss native finished ahead of Jack Aitken and Jake Hughes.
France’s Anthoine Hubert (Tech 1 Racing) scored his first win in the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 on Sunday. The pole winner and member of the France FFSA Team also offered Tech 1 Racing its maiden victory of the season. Jörg and Ukyo Sasahara (ART Junior Team) completed the podium. Louis Delétraz finished sixth and now has just a one-point lead from Jörg in the general classification. Just 28 points now separate five drivers with three meetings left in the season.
Formula Renault 2.0
Barnicoat wins in Jerez, Aitken and Kaufmann champions
19/10/2015 AT 18:20
Provisional general classification: 1. L. Delétraz – 124 points, 2. K. Jörg – 123, 3. J. Hughes – 116, 4. J. Aitken – 103, 5. A. Hubert – 99…
Formula Renault 2.0
Eight contenders for the crown
16/10/2015 AT 12:18
Formula Renault 2.0
Hubert, Barnicoat win at Le Mans to close gap on Deletraz
28/09/2015 AT 12:02