Winner of two races in the Formula Renault 2.0 NEC last weekend, Kevin Jörg (Josef Kaufmann Racing) stood out during Friday’s test as he set the best time in the collective tests.
The third round of the 2015 Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 season got underway with the Swiss driver completing a lap in 1:42.263 to lead from Ukyo Sasahara (ART Junior Team) and championship leader Louis Delétraz (Josef Kaufmann Racing). First in the Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS and back at the track where he won his first Eurocup race last year, Jack Aitken (Koiranen GP) was quickest in the morning session on Saturday.
And Aitken re-found the top step of the podium on Saturday as he won ahead of the member of the McLaren Young Driver Development Programme and Racing Steps Foundation protégé Ben Barnicoat (Fortec Motorsports) and Louis Delétraz.
Formula Renault 2.0
Barnicoat wins in Jerez, Aitken and Kaufmann champions
19/10/2015 AT 18:20
Starting from pole, the latter led the entire race, but ceded the win after being penalised for jumping the start. The Swiss driver managed to finish in the top three and increase his lead in the general classification.
After being stripped of his victory on Saturday, Delétraz bounced back in the best possible way in taking his third win of the season on Sunday. On the Hungaroring, the Swiss driver crossed the line ahead of Kevin Jörg, making it a Josef Kaufmann Racing one-two finish.
The winner increased his lead in the general classification and now has a 34-point advantage from the new number two in the general classification, Jake Hughes (Koiranen GP), third this Sunday. The best rookie from race one, Harrison Scott (AVF) did it again on Sunday, finishing fifth.
Provisional general classification: 1. L. Delétraz – 110 points, 2. J. Hughes – 76, 3. A. Hubert – 72, 4. K. Jörg – 68, 5. B. Barnicoat – 62…
Formula Renault 2.0
Eight contenders for the crown
16/10/2015 AT 12:18
Formula Renault 2.0
Hubert, Barnicoat win at Le Mans to close gap on Deletraz
28/09/2015 AT 12:02