Hughes (Koiranen GP) posted the quickest time in collective testing at the Circuit Spa-Francorchamps on Friday. The Englishman clocked his best lap in 2:17.274 to lead from Switzerland’s Kevin Jörg (Josef Kaufmann Racing) and Japan’s Ukyo Sasahara (ART Junior Team). Dennis Olsen (Manor MP Motorsport) set the pace in the morning session on Saturday that was affected by rain
Despite the rain, Sasahara secured his first Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 victory at Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps on Saturday after he got the better of pole winner Hughes, becoming the first driver from the land of the rising sun to win in the category since Kamui Kobayashi in 2005. Anthoine Hubert (Tech 1 Racing) completed the podium. Wild card entry Max Defourny (ART Junior Team) was the highest-finishing rookie in ninth place, whilst Louis Delétraz (Josef Kaufmann Racing) conserved his lead in the general classification.
Formula Renault 2.0
Barnicoat wins in Jerez, Aitken and Kaufmann champions
19/10/2015 AT 18:20
After being edged out by Sasahara on Saturday, Hughes bounced back on Sunday to take his first success in the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0. The British driver got the better of his Japanese rival on the very last lap to win the day after celebrating his 21st birthday. The SMP Racing-backed Matevos Isaakyan (JD Motorsport), completed the podium. Despite retiring early, Louis Delétraz still leads the general classification ahead of Anthoine Hubert and Jake Hughes.
Formula Renault 2.0
Eight contenders for the crown
16/10/2015 AT 12:18
Formula Renault 2.0
Hubert, Barnicoat win at Le Mans to close gap on Deletraz
28/09/2015 AT 12:02