Seven drivers still remain in the fight for the title, but with a streak of seven straight podium results, Oliver Rowland (Fortec Motorsports) is close to pulling away. The only driver who can rival the points leader, Matthieu Vaxiviere (Lotus) was beaten twice by the Racing Steps Foundation backed Englishman last weekend. The Frenchman in the Lotus F1 Junior Team will do all he can to reverse the trend on the track where he scored his first podium in 2014.
The battle for third place in the championship will be just as fierce. The highest placed rookie and member of the Red Bull Junior Team Dean Stoneman (DAMS) has just overtaken Jazeman Jaafar (Fortec Motorsports) in the general classification. Nyck de Vries (DAMS), member of the McLaren Young Driver Development Programme, Tom Dillmann (Jagonya Ayam with Carlin) and Egor Orudzhev (Arden Motorsport), will all try to make their way to the podium, which was the case for Tio Ellinas (Strakka Racing) and Pietro Fantin (International Draco Racing) at Silverstone.
In the points in the last six races, Gustav Malja (Strakka Racing) will look to join this group of outsiders and leave behind Nicholas Latifi (Arden Motorsport). Behind them, Aurélien Panis (Tech 1 Racing) and Roy Nissany (Tech 1 Racing) want to stay in contention for the top ten.
Formula Renault 3.5
Nyck De Vries wins first race in season finale
19/10/2015 AT 18:15
A top three finisher last year, Marlon Stockinger (Lotus) returns to confirm the speed he showed during his one off run in Austria. After bringing an end to his four consecutive retirements with a point scoring result, Sean Gelael (Jagonya Ayam with Carlin) hopes for more of the same. Alfonso Celis (AVF), Beitske Visser (AVF) and Bruno Bonifacio (International Draco Racing) will aim for a strong showing in Germany where Yu Kanamaru (Pons Racing) will make his debut.
Race 1: Saturday 12 September at 13:00
Race 2: Sunday 13 September at 13:00
Formula Renault 3.5
Who will be the rookie of the year?
16/10/2015 AT 12:16
Formula Renault 3.5
Oliver Rowland wins title at Le Mans
28/09/2015 AT 11:58