The third WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup season delivered plenty of firsts. Here’s a reminder of just some of them.

Cars:CUPRA’s Leon Competición and Renault’s Mégane RS TCR were on track in the WTCR for the first time.

Drivers:Nicolas Baert, Bence Boldizs, Josh Files, Luca Filippi, Nico Gruber, Gábor Kismarty-Lechner, Gilles Magnus, Dylan O’Keeffe, José Manuel Sapag, Santiago Urrutia and Jack Young all raced in the WTCR for the first time.

Format:For the first time a single qualifying session was scheduled at each event rather than two as previously.

Online:Esteban Guerrieri became the first WTCR driver to win an Esports WTCR race.

Podiums:Attila Tassi scored his first WTCR podium.

Pole positions:Yann Ehrlacher became the first WTCR title winner not to claim a DHL Pole Position.

Races:The WTCR visited Belgium and Spain for the first time, while Spain became the first country since China in 2018 to host the WTCR not once but twice.

Teams:Vuković Motorsport embarked on its first WTCR campaign.

Titles:The WTCR Rookie Driver and WTCR Trophy were awarded for the first time.

Tyres:Goodyear became the WTCR’s official tyre supplier for the first time, providing its Eagle F1 SuperSport race tyre.

Wins:Nathanaël Berthon, Nicky Catsburg, Tom Coronel and Santiago Urrutia all won in the WTCR for the first time.

WTCR race winner Berthon takes his turn to shine on ice

The post WTCR 2020 in firsts appeared first on FIA WTCR | World Touring Car Cup.

WTCR salutes twin Coronel heroes
WTCR tip for the top: #2 Santiago Urrutia
17/01/2021 AT 05:00